Musical Contest: Our Four Winners

Once again, much thanks to everyone who has participated in our Musical Contest! I’d like to extend my thanks especially to those who I’ve been pressuring, wringing every ounce of creative juice left, and practically threatened to join. lol. I hope that despite it all, you’ve found the contest enjoyable, if not anything else. πŸ™‚ As well, I do hope that you still think of me as a friend, despite my roller coaster of pleas, threats, and then immense gratitude. πŸ˜›

Introductions aside, let us now introduce our four wonderful winners:

(All entries and voting results are shown here.)

[[ The Singer ]]

Winning entry – Station of Separation from Larisa

Impressive entry. Great vocal controls. Larisa has a rich voice, even when performing the higher ranges. Her articulation is lovely – strong yet hinting fragility (which suits the song’s mood). And Larisa, I’ve listened to this song multiple times πŸ˜‰ That, I believe, is the highest form of praise. πŸ™‚

[[ The Lyricist ]]

Winning entry – Never Apart from Iris Lim

Beautiful! And I have to share that Iris shows impeccable speed and flexibility. She asked for a song suggestion. I sent her “Wind”. And immediately, her poetic muse went to work. “Never Apart” not only matched the meter but also the tone that “Wind” possesses. Dare I say these lyrics are more meaningful than the original set? I dare. πŸ™‚

[[ The Artist ]]

Winning entry – Gradually from Aurora

lol. This name is familiar to us all, isn’t it? Before discussing her winning entry, I must first thank her support in all AV Odyssey’s activities. Beautiful banners and countless birthday greetings/posters have been credited under her name. This entry is no exception. I especially like how the collage articulated a sense of gradualness through softening the faces from left to right – decreasing their clarity. A thoughtful entry, indeed. πŸ™‚ [I do suggest, though, that the artwork shows greater contrast to illustrate the concept of day appearing like night.]

[[ The Author ]]

Winning entry – My Heart is Sincere from HMSChocolate

Amazingly fitting of the lyrics in which inspired this entry. I’m not a fan of lighthearted romance, but I have to admit – I felt giddy inside after reading this story. lol! Realistic dialogues entertwined with descriptive passages. A great balance of imagery and humor. And if I may – a cute story of cute Vicki and cute Alec. lol.

And the overall winner is….

How does one decide!??! Each entry has its own merits. Why am I the one responsible for making this hard decision?! Oh wait, I was the one who came up with the terms for his Musical Contest. A dense moment on my part, no doubt. So please allow me to prolong this suspense and undo my mistake (of putting myself in charge). Simply put, I need your help. πŸ™‚ I can set up another voting poll to decide the winner among our current four. But nope, I won’t do that. Numbers do not appeal to me as reasons do. So I am asking for your opinions. πŸ™‚ Who do you think is the most deserving winner?
Discussion ends at 11:59 PM CST on Tuesday, March 27th.

57 thoughts on “Musical Contest: Our Four Winners

  1. And yes, I was the guest performer for both “Waltz” and “Love”. πŸ˜› None of you (except Fran and Marce) thought I sang Waltz too, hmm? haha.

  2. Teeko says:

    BTW… (And I hate to keep on posting on separate entries because I keep on having more to say later on…) TkN – two words … AMERICAN IDOL.

  3. I did not lose. Well, I did not lose entirely. πŸ˜› Nicole only got “Love” right, but not “Waltz”. πŸ˜› Either way, you’re the one that benefits from this betting for apparently, we are to treat you to dinner with our monopoly money. πŸ˜›

  4. haha!!!! That’ll be the day! I don’t even watch the show, so there’s no chance in showing my support by joining. πŸ˜› But the bigger reason – lack of talent and courage. :\

    Anyhow… shouldn’t you be helping me out with making a decision? No dinner for you if you don’t contribute! lol.

  5. Haha…I’m sure Nicole is happy now that her point is proved (that you sang Love). Actually listening back to Waltz…interestingly it does sound a bit like you as well but since the song was so different from Love that I didn’t make the immediate connection.

    Somehow I guessed it was Iris who wrote Never Apart. It has her style. And I do agree with you, it’s definitely better than the real lyrics. πŸ˜› I was singing along to the music as I read the entry.

    Larisa: you should become a professional singer! I nearly thought it was Vicki singing that entry.

    Aurora Aurora Aurora. Well, there’s a surprise. πŸ˜› Brilliant art work. I agree with TkN, the gradual decrease of clarity of the pictures is really fitting to the song.

    I’ll keep my mouth shut about my own entry. Or I’ll say this. I came back and reread it during voting week. I could kick myself for the number of grammar mistakes I had like missing out words whiling typing. Why couldn’t I find them during editing? Oh yes, I wrote the story on March 10 (two days before Vicki’s birthday). Did anyone realise that that fact totally evaded me and I unconsciously put myself in her shoes thus giving her my birth month and birthstone? πŸ˜› Seriously, it was unconscious. I thought, I like autumn, so I’ll make her birthday in autumn. Ok, how about make it August as well. The irony is that I’m living in Australia now where autumn is March. πŸ˜›

  6. Oh are we supposed to help you make a decision? Oh right, I forgot. Was too excited about commenting on the entries. πŸ˜› Er — I really really don’t know.

    Haha, I think TkN is too good a singer to mix with the wannabes of American Idol. Goes for all the singing entries actually.

  7. Teeko says:

    OK OK I totally forgot what this post was about lol. Anyway here are my thoughts. I cannot decide between the singer, the artist, and the author. Not to say that the rest does not take hard work to do, I think singing, designing, and writing is about the hardest thing to do.

    For one thing, NOT everyone can sing and control their vocals, so I have to give major props to the singers. As a graphics nerd myself, I know how hard it is sometimes to get the right splash of images and color put together to make a pretty picture. AND ALSO as an author, it takes definite inspiration to compose a storyline with substance.

    Frankly.. I don’t know who deserves the overall prize. Really I don’t >

  8. Teeko says:

    Ok… my post got cut offf… I was saying… I really don’t know *makes a face* but my head is turning towards the singer… because REALLY–MAJOR PROPS~ But it still isn’t my final decision!

  9. HMSChocolate – I did!! When I read that part about her birthstone, my eyebrows raised. Then, I looked up your birthday and… πŸ˜› I didn’t make the connection to Australia’s autumn being in March though. πŸ™‚ And your last sentence… LOL! Trying to win brownie points, are you? haha I kid! I kid!

    Teeko – You know… lyrics is another form of writing. There, I’ve made your decision-making process even tougher. πŸ˜›

  10. Teeko says:

    Still, I favor the three I mentioned. LOL You’re suppose to have me make a decision easier. Oh WELL! I guess I cannot chose from those 4 a’tall!!

  11. TkN: *innocent look*

    I knew this would be a tough process. How do you judge different forms of art against each other? My final decision is that I’ll let you guys decide! πŸ™‚

  12. Teeko says:

    Ok you know what? I’m going to stay neutral on this. I cannot decide as well. Let’s have all the strict people like SImon Cowell to decide.

  13. Teeko – Remember how I’m “evil”? That’s why I want to make your task harder. πŸ˜› But evil or not, it’s hard to be a Simon Cowell! lol. I’m not qualified to do this. 😦

    HMSChocolate – What do you say, we’ll leave it to Nicole? lol!! With her logical reasoning, maybe she can blend different forms of art to do a thorough judge. πŸ˜›

  14. Lol. Yeah, let’s put it through the Nicole reasoning test … Nicole…where are you? It’s 5pm on a Sunday so she’s probably out having a social life like a normal person, I guess. πŸ™‚

  15. And it’s approaching 2AM here in Minnesota. So like a normal person, I should head to bed pronto!

    Hopefully I’ll dream about a decision during my sleep. πŸ˜›

  16. Nicole says:

    What do I have to say? WAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA I laughed my head off when I read this. LOL TkN, you owe me $10000 USD. LOL this is so amusing, I couldn’t stop laughing, and the friend I invited over for dinner is shaking thinking I just turned into a maniac roaring in front of my computer. LOL. What can I say?? I’m a genius!!!!!! lolz… I’ve ever only heard TkN’s voice once, and that was nearly 3 years or more when she sent me a 5 second clip. And I still recongnise the voice. Don’t blame me for not picking waltz up, to be quite honest, I didn’t listen to the song. I’m on an incredibly slow internet connection, and the only 2 songs I listened to was love and station of separation. Then I gave up after trying to download them, which took me about 2 hours per one.

    But I am so damn right. My logic is perfect. I am forever correct!! lolz… And TkN thought she could outsmart me!!! LOL!! Oh I am so.. laughing.. hard… poor poor TkN πŸ˜› LOOK! She sung BOTH guest entries AHAHAHAHA LOL! LOL! LOL! Oh this is so hilarious, hurry up and send me the cash through Paypal please TkN!! Or send me your VISA card and I’ll decide what to buy… and perhaps sponsor some of these winners to visit Australia hahaha…

    I just can’t stop laughing over it… lol… and the poor people who thought I was wrong hahaha πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› Nicole is NEVER wrong!! LOL!

    I better shut up before I make a fool of myself. I can just hear the door slowly shutting from my friend sneaking out and running away thinking I just turned so mad I’m going to hunt her for dinner. lol.

    Congratulations on all the winners. And look! 2 VIP members winning! lolz. I am always correct! They’re VIP members, but not super close friends with TkN, so of course they put entries in. I would have done so if my singing/writing/drawing/composing talents was not so horribly out of tune. What I didn’t think of was HMS submitting one, and here I thought was another silly girl like me from Australia laughing at TkN trying to outsmart Nicole πŸ™‚ lolz. That was an awesome entry HMS, no wonder you are writing fanfictions I love to read and press refresh 5 times daily to see if you updated!!! Great job!!

    But quite frankly, these entries are just superb. Every category has its most outstanding entries. And I think every entry in every category is worthy of every praise for their talents, courage and achievements. They are really, all pure brilliance. Even Nicole here, pure genius, but no guts to enter with her croaking voice, ultra-crap designing skills, literature-less brain, and out of tune lyricist. So I envy you all, every single one of you has great talents, and really, my biggest congratulations to you all.

    Other than that, CONGRATULATIONS to all the most deserving, best of the best winners. I don’t know what else to say, the talents displayed here are just wonderful. I would have had no hope trying to do anything like it.

    Now I don’t want to clean up the dirty work left from our super evil “trying-to-outsmart-Nicole-but-failing-dismally-webmistress”. Despite my pure genius, but senile as anything and super untalented brain, I won’t do a super-resonable-logical test on who should be the ultimate winner. I don’t think such a thing should exist. Pitting winners from different categories is unfair, and every entry has its merits. Also keep in mind that had we had a totally different audience, the results may have turned out completely differently. It is all in the eyes (or ears) of a person. Every entry is very talented. And I think the 4 winners here should receive equal prizes. Congrats on the 4 great winners! I think they should put their photos up here, so I can recognise them on the streets LOL, PHOTOS PLEASE OUR WINNING GALS!

    Out of the entries however, I respect the singing entries slightly more than the others. That area required a lot of effort. I know it requires a lot of courage, which I frankly don’t have. I was in China performing in front of all my old friends and relatives earlier this year- in a karoke session, and I was just shaking my way through singing my Alec song lol.

    But please give equal prize to the most deserving winners. I don’t think it’s fair to pit the winners against each other in totally unrelated categories.

    And TkN, since you owe me $10000, do go buy yourself a present for $5000 USD. I am so generous. Send me the left over $5000. Wonderful singing, I was simply amazed when I heard Love. To tell you the whole hearted truth, when I first played it, I skipped to the middle of the song. And said to myself: What the heck is this, someone submitted a song sung by Vicki? Then I restarted the song to hear a different, but another great voice. Congrats to you TkN. Remember to sing me an Alec song for my birthday or sometihng. PLEASE?! πŸ™‚

  17. Nicole says:

    I’m back again to spam.. just relistened to love and station of separation. So good… just so good. Also looked at the other winning entries from Aurora, HMS, Iris. So good as well. Please put more contests up like this TkN hahaha… put one for April πŸ˜› And put an Alec or Vicki contest. I want to hear some Alec songs and some Alec-inpspired works. I can offer some top class ultra ultra ultra rare prizes! lolz.

  18. Nicole: ROFL. That was a long comment!!!

    I know it’s a coincident that voting started right before Vicki’s birthday but TkN, if you’re going to do another contest like this, you should do it in time for Alec’s birthday!

    Non-contest related msg to Nicole: Instead of your having to press refresh 5x/day, how about next time I update, I email you? πŸ˜€

  19. Nicole says:

    err no… Alec’s birthday is WAY too long away… please do it in April/May hahaha……. then have another one for his birthday… please lolz…

    And HMS, sure that would be great, but instead of having to e-mail me, how about updating once a day, that way I don’t have to check my e-mail, as I know that within 24 hours I will have a new update on winglin? πŸ˜›

  20. All four winners do receive a gift from yours truly; the ultimate winner gets VIP membership and 1GB webspace in addition.

    Nicole – for a genius who can remember my voice in a 5 seconds clip three years later… you don’t seem to know Vicki’s voice well. lol. Our voices vastly differ. For one, I can’t even pronounce the Chinese lyrics correctly. haha. And sure, I’ll try to croak an Alec’s song for your birthday. But you have to recommend a good one for me. My range isn’t exactly as low as a guy, you see. lol. And oh, “Waltz” isn’t a song I’d normally sing. I only gave it a shot because I wanted variety for our contest. πŸ™‚ Wait, why am I feeding the fact that you were right?? lol. [You’re not ALWAYS right though. But, we won’t go there. :P]

    Of course I’d love love to host another contest like this. And hopefully, we’ll get enough entries so I won’t have to submit guest ones. πŸ˜› But holding one in April would be way too soon. We won’t get participants, I’m afraid. I’d rather shoot for sometimes this summer (your winter).

  21. Oh and if you’re going to hold another contest, please don’t hold it in June if you want me to participate. July would be ok. Though mind you, this July would be a busy month for me with the Harry Potter movie and book coming out so there’s no saying that HP won’t distract me from AV this summer (winter > .

  22. I was gonna email you but since you’re here… Mind sending me your address? πŸ˜› Don’t worry, I don’t stalk πŸ˜‰ And the gift is a secret between the winners and me. No teling here. ‘Course I won’t let the chance to make Nicole jealous slip by. haha! Just kidding!!!

    And in fact, I did have in mind July. πŸ™‚ HP distracting you? Please, that book takes only a night to finish. πŸ˜›

  23. Fern says:

    I can’t decide! It’s all wonderful! TkN’s absolutely right. The Harry Potter book will only take a night to finish because I will NEVER leave that book halfway and go to sleep! *grin* Thank god I’ll be having my winter holidays then hehe. Nicole, which part of Australia are you in? That makes at least THREE AV fans in Australia! I’m in Perth, HMS’ in Sydney and where are you? *grin*

  24. Nicole is in Newcastle.

    Yeah, I’ll probably end up finishing that book in the day too. It’s supposed to be something like 700 pages but I’ll finish it in about 7-8 hours I reckon πŸ˜› But I will be spending more time than healthy on the forums discussing the theories that may or may not have came true. There’s more fun in post-reading discussions than the actual book you know. πŸ˜›

    Ok, I just send you my address.

    I should really be off to bed. though daylight savings ending is giving me another hour to sleep but still…

  25. BlueRidge says:

    I’m glad I didn’t wait til Monday to check the results! I knew there’d be a long conversation regarding guest entries! :P:P:P

    For me HP will be in August, I already have the whole month of July dedicated to work – back to back programs with a bunch of little rascals….er…middle school kids. hehe, j/k, they’re lots of fun, just tiring!

    Congratulations to all the winners! Well done! πŸ™‚

  26. Marce says:

    CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL THE WINNERS!!!!

    TkN: this is SOOOOOOOOOO UNFAIR!!!! You were the one who had that silly idea of a major prize and now you “throw the ball” to us????? If you are not qualified to do it, why do you think WE are?????

    I’m sorry but I can’t help you with the decision. To me is impossible to mix those different categories.

    Besides, if you have talent in one category, you tend to think the others are more difficult. If a person is good at writing would think it’s more difficult to sing, if you’re talented with singing, you tend to find graphics as the most unachievable art….

    I’m not in!. Sorry, my friend. You’ll have to choose without my help.

  27. Nicole says:

    I had a chance to listen to Waltz yesterday night. It was good, and I could tell that you couldn’t pronounce the chinese lyrics properly TkN haha, that was very evident compared to love. In love I couldn’t hear any pronounciation problems, they were crystal clear and the tone was great. Perhaps you put more effort into Love? You obviously prefer slower songs, like me πŸ™‚

    I had thought you would have said no to my request to sing me an Alec song haha, thanks TkN lolz! Any song would be great, it’s from TkN after all, our new ‘AV-Odyssey Evil Webmistress Idol’. Anyway, anything you most like. Alec’s voice is not all that deep, it’s not base. More about the tenor region, while yours, I think is around alto. Alto is just a tad higher in vocal rangers compared to tenor. I don’t think you’ll have any trouble πŸ™‚

    HMS will tell me what the gift is, won’t you my best best best best best friend? lolz…………… πŸ˜› That way TkN won’t laugh at my un-knowing-ness.

    Fern- I’m a Sydney gal, and moved to Newcastle, a major city just slightly north of Sydney. Nice to see more AV fans here! There’s plenty of Alec and Vicki separate fans in Aussie, I know several die-hard Alec fans that make me feel like an ant compared to them. I’ve met fans twice his age, and are some of the most craziest fans I’ve ever seen, and they live in Australia. Plenty of fans here. Though AV fans I don’t think there are that many.

    But what am I going on about? I’m probably just singing to the cows. lol. I hardly think there is a real Alec fan in here. Mostly just Vicki’s. Those that claim to be Alec fans are just very very small ones, that go onto talking about HP and *cough* LAM FUNG *cough*…..

    lol… πŸ™‚

  28. BlueRidge – What a subtle way to remind me of my deadline πŸ˜‰ haha, just kidding! Once little Kyra grows up to be around that age, I want her to attend your camp so you can take a break from the usual “rascals” πŸ˜›

    Marce – Seeing how I’ve never composed a single set of lyrics in my life, I was blown away by Iris’ submission (based on “With and Against the Wind”, as a matter of fact. Pun intended :P) So should I crown her the winner? πŸ˜›

    Nicole – We had a required choir course in 8th grade, and I was amongst the sopranoes. lol! Well, they placed me into alto first, but then they needed someone to do a solo soprano section and randomly chose me (because none of the soprano girls wanted to do it). Back then, I was the girl who sits wherever placed. lol. And I’m not just a fan of slow songs – I’m a fan of sad songs. πŸ˜›

    For the record – I’m not a Harry Potter fan.

  29. Marce says:

    TkN, honey! As I said, I couldn’t make such a judgement. To me, each different discipline has its own difficulty and value. I admire all of the winners, each of them in their special skill.
    Whatever you decide is ok to me. I have always respected your decisions.
    If you felt something special with the lyrics then that entry deserves special consideration. Go ahead, honey!! You have my support.

  30. Nicole says:

    Well you can always ask which of the 4 winners needs the grand prize the most… I’m sure the VIP member winners could care less about winning another VIP membership… and perhaps some does not care about the 1gb webspace. A free hotmail account gives you 1 gb of webspace, not that I ever use it. Therefore had I won the competition (I can just hear a snort from people screaming: ‘dream on nicole!’) I wouldn’t care about the grand prize… I’d just like the secret prize. So perhaps you can decide who needs the grand prize the most TkN…

  31. Iris Lim says:

    lol. I check the results of the contest one day late, and the comment section is already so incredibly long. Girls just can’t stop talking πŸ˜›

    Believe it or not, it actually did occur to me that TkN sang both guest entries. In fact, “Waltz” actually reminded me more of her voice than “Love” did. I guess I should have placed a bet like Nicole did πŸ˜›

    TkN: thanks for your many praises and endorsements. I don’t deserve it that much, okay? πŸ™‚ You begged for an entry, and you got it πŸ˜› And I have to admit I had a fun with the writing πŸ™‚

    HMSCholocate: “Never Apart” was my style? Hm…I wonder. Since you’re so much of a word slueth, tell me which other entry was mine too πŸ™‚ As for your story, I also somehow sensed it was you, though I wasn’t sure. It seemed like the kind of narrative you like to write πŸ™‚

    TkN: I can’t comment on overall winner.
    Reason #1–I’m one of the four πŸ˜›
    Reason #2–these entries are too different for competing against each other
    Reason #3–I think each winner was happy enough winning her own category. After all, that’s where the real competition lies πŸ™‚

  32. Nicole says:

    Oh that’s easy to solve. Just put a big message on the front page:

    HONORABLE PEOPLE:

    Congratulations to our 4 musical contest winners, Larisa, Iris, Aurora and HMS. These 4 winners are now crowed “HONORABLE” people for their most outstanding and most famous musical contest wins in the century. In future, please address them as “YOUR HONOR”. Violators will be severely punished.

    Now where did the Honor come from? Obviously as Newton so famously says, “What goes up, must come down”.

    UNHONORABLE PEOPLE

    Congratulations to our webmistress Nhi, aka TkN, who, as the contest organiser, gave all her honor away as prizes to the 4 winners. In future, please address her as “YOUR UNHONORABLE” or “YOU @%*!$# (Insert profanity/swear word here)”. Violators will be severely punished.

    There! All the winners won their “honor”. They’re happy, I’m happy. Problem solved.

  33. Some of these comments made me LOL

    Iris: I don’t know about your other entries but I had a feeling you wrote Never Apart. It was just a feeling.

    As for my entry, I thought anyone had ever read my other fanfics would guess it right away that I wrote that entry. It’s got my trademark BRITISH spelling if you pay attention to that πŸ˜›

    Re the overall winner: Yeah, I think it’s satisfying enough to win the category (to get the secret prize πŸ˜› ). I’m not fussed about the grand prize actually. So you choose whoever.

  34. Nicole – I think you’ve just made my day. lol!!! Oh gosh, I’m appreciating someone who’s encouraging profanity to be used toward me!!! I must be insane. Clearly insane. But since I work at a mental institution, I can easily check myself in. lol!!!!! j/k

  35. Teeko says:

    How can you all detect and “sense” each other’s writing style? I can’t do that. Good writing is good writing to me unless you’re like TkN and talk like you live in England in the early 1900’s lol. In that case, can anyone tell me what kind of style I am, those who has read my rubbish.

    Perhaps I’m too much of a simpleton to notice things. (>_

  36. Iris Lim says:

    Teeko: How do we sense each other’s style? Well, you mentioned wording, for one. In this case, I just realized it was HMS from the narrative itself, not from the way it was told.

    There were two primary HMS characteristics:
    1–A tried and true happy little ending (which wouldn’t have necessarily been the case with an author like TkN or me πŸ˜› )
    2–length πŸ˜›

    Nicole: thanks so much for the laugh. lol.

    TkN: Knowing that you work in a field that tries to understand the human mind, I wonder if you could explain why three out of four winners have entry number 02. Is there some psychological pattern here? πŸ˜›

  37. Larisa says:

    Oh, lol I’ve just seen the result…
    Thank you very very very much!!! ^_______^ All the songs and contestants are awesome!

  38. Marce says:

    Larisa: Your singing was just SPECTACULAR!!! I’m proud to have convinced you to join the contest!!!! Well done, girl! I told you you would win!!!!!!!!!!!!! CONGRATS!!!!!!!!

  39. Haha…length. Teeko: I think each writer has a certain way of expressing themselves and maybe catch phrases (I know I have those) that are unique to them. I don’t know. Sometimes if I’ve read someone’s work before and read another one of their work, there are just certain things in the second work that would ‘remind’ me of the author, even if I can’t quite put my finger on what that certain thing is. If that makes sense…at all.

  40. Fern says:

    Hey Nicole, I do know where Newcastle is. My cousin went there a few times for his company. Ah, I haven’t met any AV fans. I’m happy enough being a closet fan. HMS, I agree that post-reading discussions are fun. After all, this IS the final book already. Hehehe.

  41. Teeko says:

    lol You guys make me want to develop some kind of writing style for people to immediately identify me.

    Where’s Newcastle? Sounds like its somewhere in England lol…. T_T” whats with me and England lately? lol.. TkN.

  42. It’s great to see another winner joining our discussion. πŸ™‚ I suppose Aurora thinks she’s too good for us. πŸ˜› I kid, bien sur. πŸ˜›

    Commenters – Don’t type faces with angular brackets. WordPress interprets it as closing an HTML tag and will cut anything you write following the angular bracket.

    Authors – And there are lots of you here. πŸ˜› I think part of detecting writing styles is knowing the author’s personality. I can write pretty un-old-English-like (and I have), but if you know me well enough, you’d detect that the words are mine simply because the theme I wish to explore really spells out my name. πŸ˜›

    Teeko – You write realistic dialogues. You interrupt descriptive passages that evoke imagery/sensory with humor. And you can write at length the mentality of one individual. [I’m pointing out strengths, btw. lol]

    Iris – Ordering is an interesting topic. Normally, people are most comfortable to volunteer second in a public event (e.g. presentations). Going first or last is nerve-wrecking. With the former, you’re unfamiliar with the requirements. With the latter, you’re afraid of not meeting the expectations/standards other people have set before you. Going second gives you ample time to adjust your mindset toward the event’s objective(s), and quick enough to be setting standards for others, instead of following others’ standards. The second position boosts your confidence, and hence you do well. However, this contest runs anonymously and uninformed. This time, it is completely by chance that those who submitted second fare best. Now, onto the mindset of the audience… Say we’re at an interview. We will most recall the first and last person who we interviewed, unless someone in between is especially outstanding or extremely horrific. But this, once again, does not apply to the contest. Our audience (the voters) can enjoy any entry in any random order, for however long the duration, and can do so repeatedly. I guess to sum it up – psychology does not apply here. It’s a total coincidence. πŸ˜›

  43. Teeko: the original Newcastle is in England, yes. But there’s a Newcastle in Australia as well. Newcastle, Australia is a little north of Sydney.

    TkN: I agree with what you said about detecting writing styles. It’s much easier if you know the writer personally. I can distinguish between my friends’ writing any time. But I digress.

    I think by now we’ve all agreed that we will leave the decision to our wonderful evil webmistress :P. So we shall await her word of wisdom.

  44. The “word of wisdom” shall not come tonight. But of course, sometimes on the 28th, the announcement will arrive as promised. I just need another night’s sleep to figure this out. πŸ˜›

    Gonna hit the hay now. The day’s been much too long.

  45. Iris Lim says:

    TkN: sorry if my comment seemed to suggest some form of bias from the ordering. I was just having a little fun with my musings πŸ™‚

    Teeko: Don’t try to develop a “unique” writing style. You already have it. Trying to do so intentionally would probably have drastic and unnatural results πŸ˜›

    And on writing styles in general, I totally agree that there are certain vocabulary brackets, sentence structures, and wordings that characterize each author. It’s just that for me, I usually “slueth” out writers by their themes and plots πŸ™‚

  46. Teeko says:

    Hehe, and I dare assume I am the dark themed one? lol.

    Shouldn’t the results come in now for the final prize winner? It’s the 28th…

  47. Iris – lol. You didn’t suggest that, at all. I enjoyed your musings, and offered my “psychologist point-of-view” πŸ˜›

    Teeko – Working on it… Or do you want me to hand the job over to you, since you’re so comfortable with “dark themes”? lol j/k BTW, I forgot to mention… you have a knack for describing chemistry between two people, especially tension. πŸ™‚

  48. Iris Lim says:

    Teeko: You are not the dark-themed one. You are about action imagery and piercing, fiery interactions (like TkN mentioned) the same way HMS is about long dialogues and TkN is about tragedy πŸ™‚

    TkN: You are from the Victorian era when it comes to wording, but I don’t mind πŸ˜›

  49. Teeko says:

    That’s a lot of description about me, I didn’t realize it lol. I don’t mind being dark themed, I love it actually. Sets in a really good mood. INTENSITY is the word. =D

    TkN’s Victorian dialogues and themes really sets me into the tranquil mood. I think it’s very elegant and sophisticated.

Leave a Reply

